Boats registered in other states may be used for up to 60 consecutive days in Kentucky without registering here.
All boats operated in Kentucky must have the registration certificate on board. Boats that are rented from a marina or boat livery must have a lease agreement on board.
The above costs Do Not include property taxes, clerks fees, titling fess, or any other applicable charges. (301 KAR 6:005)
Persons under 12 years of age must wear a personal floatation device (lifejacket) while in the open portion of a boat that is underway.
Water skiing or operation of personal watercraft (PWC) can only be done between sunrise and sunset. Persons being towed on any device must wear a Type I, II or III personal floatation device. Boat towing skiers, tubers, or knee boarders must have, in addition to the driver, an observer 12 years of age or older or a wide angle rearview mirror mounted so that the operator can check on the skier but still give full attention to traffic ahead.
It is illegal to operate a boat or vessel including personal watercraft, manipulate water skis, kneeboards, tubes, or similar devices while intoxicated or under the influence of any other substance that impairs one’s operating ability. Kentucky law specifically prohibits the drinking of alcoholic beverages in public places and the waterways of this state are considered public places.
For more information or questions contact the Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife’s Division of Law Enforcement @ 1-800-858-1549 or www.fw.ky.gov
Kentucky Lake is one of the best fisheries in the country for many popular game fish. The most popular species are largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, and crappie, but spotted bass, bluegills, shellcrackers, catfish, white bass and saugers can also be caught with good success.
Check out more fishing information by logging on to the Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife Resources’ website at www.fw.ky.gov . Click on the “Fishing “ tab, here anglers may search lakes, rivers and creeks for boat ramps and access points, what species are available and maps of how to get there, plus a fishing forecast which details the anticipated fishing success for each species as well as other useful information.
Hunting - General Rules
2. Unless the law says you do not need a license, you must buy the right hunting license and permits for the kind of hunting you do. You must have proof of buying those licenses and permits with you when you hunt.
3. You can only hunt when the season is open for the species. The type of firearm and ammunition, or archery equipment you use must be legal. You can take no more game than the daily or season bag limits allow.
4. Anyone hunting where and when a gun deer or elk season is open must wear hunter orange on the head, chest and back, that is visible to others at all times.
5. All hunters born after January 1, 1975 must pass a hunter education course before hunting on any land besides land they own. Kids do not have to take the class until they are 10 years old, but must always hunt with an adult.
For more information or questions contact the Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife @ 1-800-858-1549 or www.fw.ky.gov